Honorary Degrees | Webster University

Honorary Degree Nomination

We are looking forward to our 102nd commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 8, 2021.

An important part of commencement is the awarding of an honorary degree to a recipient who will be our commencement speaker. As in the past, we are seeking suggestions for honorary degree recipients. NOTE: Self-nominations will not be considered.

The honorary doctorate degree recognizes accomplishments of individuals, including alumni, as well as those who may not have had any previous association with the University.

Past recipients include former President George H. W. Bush, Simon Wiesenthal, Bob Costas, Patricia McKissack (MA, 1975), Lt. Col. Greg Gadson (MA, 2001), congresswoman and Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, U.S. Ambassador to Egypt Anne W. Patterson, two-time Tony award-winning Webster alum Norbert Leo Butz (BFA Theatre Arts, 1990), Hiroshima atomic bomb survivor Koko Tonimoto Kondo, St. Louis-born actress, singer, community activist, and Webster University alumna Jenifer Lewis (BA Theatre Arts, 1979), Jim Weddle, managing partner of Edward Jones Investments, and Gen. Paul Selva, 10th Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and second highest ranking officer in the United States Military, Mr. Michael P. McMillan, president and CEO of the Urban League of Metropolitan St. Louis, Webster alumna Katy Sullivan (BFA Theatre Arts, 2002), award-winning television and stage actress, producer, and writer, as well as a four-time U.S. champion Paralympic runner; neuroscientist Vladimir Ivkovic (BA, Vienna, 1999), and Will D. Carpenter, the scientist, philanthropist, and contributor to the Nobel Prize-winning Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons.

To nominate the 2021 honorary degree recipient, simply fill out the electronic form.

NOTE: Self-nominations will not be considered.